Superior Court, State Court, Municipal Court, Probate Court, or Recorders Court?
Traffic citations, or tickets, are considered misdemeanor criminal offenses under Georgia. Every county in Georgia has a Superior Court, which has jurisdiction over misdemeanor and felony criminal cases, in addition to most civil cases. The more populous counties also have a State Court to handle misdemeanor criminal cases and certain civil cases.
Municipalities, or cities, also have their own courts, called municipal courts. These courts handle traffic offenses, some other misdemeanor offenses, and city...
As Americans, we all have increased expectations of privacy in our homes. Pursuant to the 4th Amendment, we are supposed to enjoy a life free from being subjected to unreasonable government searches and seizures. A search warrant is an instrument used under specific circumstances by law enforcement to pierce the protection of these expectations.
Driving distracted is dangerous and in recent years, New York State has taken notice and has made the vehicle and traffic law more strict. Basically, anything you can do with a smartphone is considered “using” and is prohibited. To be charged under the “use of portable electronic device” law, the police officer need only see you hold something that looks like a portable electronic device. Proof of actual use is not required. Learn more.
In 2010, the Georgia legislature passed a passed a law making it illegal to “write, send, or read any text-based communication, including but not limited to a text message, instant message, e-mail, or Internet data” while operating a motor vehicle on a public Georgia road or highway. Georgia police officers are allowed to stop and ticket people for violating the law even if they are driving safely and haven’t committed any other traffic offense. Since the law passed, thousands of Georgia residents have been ticketed for violation.
Drivers that are...
A New Jersey driver convicted of a moving violation in New York will acquire points on their New Jersey driving record.
The impact on a driving license from a DWI is two fold. 1) Prompt suspension at arraignment and 2) Suspension or Revocation if Convicted
How to restore your revoked links including links and resources from the DMV.
Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) will impose a mandatory suspension of a driving privilege on a Georgia driver convicted in Georgia, or any other state, of:
Operating a vehicle with a suspended, revoked, or canceled registration; or,
Leaving the scene of an accident; or,
Homicide by vehicle; or,
Using a vehicle to elude or attempt to elude an officer.
DDS will revoke a driving privilege if a driver is convicted of:
Being a habitual offender due to 3 convictions in 5 years of offense that causes a mandatory...
If you’ve lost your Georgia driving privilege to suspension or revocation there may be some help for you. Often you may be eligible for a Limited Driving Permit while your license is suspended or revoked. These permits are available only for a fee, the fees are generally about $25 except for a habitual violator who must pay $210. Click here for a list of the fees.
The Limited Driving Permit (LDP) allows you to drive to:
Doctor or pharmacy; and,
Drug or alcohol support groups; and,
Court, probation, or community service...
What is the Georgia Super Speeder Law?
A "Super Speeder" is any driver, including out-of-state drivers, convicted of:
Speeding at 75 mph or more on a 2-lane road; or,
Speeding at 85 mph or more on any road or highway in the State of Georgia.
If your vioaltion falls within the criteria for Super Speeder, the law requires that you to pay $200, in addition to the court fines and fees.
How will I know about the Super Speeder Fine?
Once convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more, the Georgia Department of Driver Services will notify you of the $200 Super Speeder fee by...