Under the New York equitable distribution law, marital property, generally speaking, is all property that has come into the marriage commencing with the date of the marriage and continuing until the date the divorce action is filed with the court or the parties execute a written property settlement agreement, regardless of the form in which the title is held.
Exceptions to the martial property rule is property acquired by the husband or wife during the marriage from inheritance, proceeds of a personal injury case, and assets excluded by a formal agreement between the parties, e.g. a...
On August 16, 2010, New York State finally joined every other state in the nation by enacting a no-fault divorce law effective October 14, 2010. With this new law, a judge may grant a divorce when a marriage has been “irretrievably broken” for a period of more than 6 months as established by the sworn statement of only one party.
Previously, a husband or wife, faced with an uncooperative spouse, could only obtain a divorce in New York if he or she could prove fault-based grounds such as cruel and inhuman treatment, abandonment, or adultery. These restrictions no longer apply...
Governs the issue of restricted use licenses for suspended New York drivers.
A traffic infraction is not a crime and the punishment imposed therefor shall not be deemed for any purpose a penal or criminal punishment.
A Driver Responsibility Assessment is a fee imposed by the New York State DMV on drivers with certain traffic, alcohol, or drug related convictions. The DMV will mail the bill for this assessment to your home after your case has been concluded and it must be paid in addition to fines, surcharges, and other penalties from the courts.
Pleading guilty to traveling 86 mph on the New York Thruway is enough to incur the assessment and it will cost you an extra $300. This extra penalty has surprised many people.
There is a higher standard for suspension of a CDL. Fewer convictions over less time is require to lose a CDL as oppose to regular license. Learn more about CDL suspension.
It is a supporting deposition, which is a statement, prepared by the police officer issuing you the ticket, which sets forth facts that support the reasonable cause (the legality) of the stop.
This a summary of the fines you will incur for various speeding convictions in New York.
DWI law is complicated. Does it apply in a private parking lot?
A charge for "failure to obey a traffic control device", as it is usually called, is under VTL §1110a. Sometimes given to CDL drivers for missing a weigh station, to regular drivers as a roadside reduction, but most often as a negotiated settlement. A conviction carries 2-points and a maximum fine of $150 + surcharge.